Home > Flagstaff, New Media, Northern Arizona, Politics, Uncategorized > My Statement Opposing Proposed Carbon Tax & Dividend Resolution

My Statement Opposing Proposed Carbon Tax & Dividend Resolution

By Elisha Dorfsmith

This afternoon the Flagstaff Sustainability Commission voted 5-1 to support a proposed Carbon Tax & Dividend resolution for the City of Flagstaff. I was the lone NO vote. Council will be voting on this resolution sometime in August.

Below is my statement to the Commission explaining my vote:

“On January 28th, 2016 the Flagstaff Sustainability Commission voted 4-3 to support the Carbon Fee and Dividend proposal put forth by the Citizens Climate Lobby. I was one of the three NO votes. I will be voting NO once again, tonight.

While I feel that those advocating for a carbon fee and dividend proposal in Flagstaff have their hearts in the right place, I believe this plan has too many unintended economic consequences and will actually hurt some of the most vulnerable people in our society.

I have not talked to many in Flagstaff who actually like the details of the Carbon Fee and Dividend proposal. Yet, most say they still support it because they have to support something. I can’t just support “something”. Details matter. I would like to remind this commission, and those watching at home, that supporting the wrong thing for the right reasons is still wrong.

I do not expect to sway other commissioners with these comments. I simply want the record to reflect my strong opposition to this resolution.”

More information on the Citizens Climate Lobby who proposed this resolution can be found here:

https://citizensclimatelobby.org/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

