Home > Elected Officials, Flagstaff, Flagstaff Liberty Alliance, Libertarian, Nanny State, New Media, Northern Arizona, Police State, Politics > Recording Not Allowed At Tonight’s LD6 Townhall Meeting In Flagstaff

Recording Not Allowed At Tonight’s LD6 Townhall Meeting In Flagstaff

By Elisha Dorfsmith

What do Bob Thorpe, Brenda Barton and Chester Crandell (all LD6 incumbents) have in common with Flagstaff City Council candidate Eva Putzova? All have recently refused to be recorded at public meetings as this year’s very bitter campaign season starts to heat up.

Putzova refused to be recorded at a Flagstaff Liberty Alliance meeting where she knew her responses may be criticized by the liberty minded people in the group. I suppose this is somewhat understandable but not necessarily forgivable.

On the other hand, the LD6 representatives did not allow recording at tonight’s Townhall meeting which was widely promoted and advertised as a “legislative update”.  Apparently, only constituents attending in person were special enough to be privy to this “update”. This is completely unforgivable and in my opinion shows that our current LD6 representatives cannot be trusted.

But who are they kidding? Anybody who did attend knows that this “Townhall” was more of a campaign opportunity than a chance for constituents to hear what is going on at the state capital. The candidates were in full campaign mode as they touted their accomplishments over the past two years and attacked their critics.

I was tweeting from the event and for a while one of the guys from event security stood over my shoulder and watched me. Then he questioned if I was recording the event. When I said I was not recording anything he said well, recording is NOT allowed.

Maybe it was not allowed but unfortunately for them, writing about it after the fact is allowed and here it is. Something to keep in mind on election day when you vote for your LD6 choices.

Bq70mcOCEAEqzSa

For a while this guy stood behind my chair looking over my shoulder watching me post on twitter from the LD6 Townhall in Flagstaff tonight. Then he asked if I was recording the meeting. He said recording was not allowed at the townhall. What kind of public townhall meeting does not allow recording? How can you trust Thorpe, Barton and Crandell if they refuse to be transparent to their constituents?

  1. Eli Blake
    June 24, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    I live in LD-6 (Navajo County) and I never heard about this ‘townhall.’ And it’s not like I don’t pay attention to the local news, because I do.

  2. June 25, 2014 at 7:57 am

    What legal fiction are they invoking to forbid recording? I say “show me the &^%$#@% law”!

    • June 25, 2014 at 8:02 am

      Honestly, if I had brought recording equipment with me I would have pushed them on it and made them throw me out. I think their feeling is that it is their event and they can do whatever they want…even make the rules up as they go along. They may have had the legal authority to do it but their constituents may have a nice little response in November. I know I won’t be voting for any of the LD6 incumbents.

  3. June 25, 2014 at 7:59 am

    Elisha, I don’t have the time to research this, but doesn’t the Open Meetings Law cover this situation? “No recording” fatwahs are forbidden as I recall.

    • June 25, 2014 at 8:04 am

      Open meeting laws cover public meetings where there is a quorum and decisions are being made. I don’t think they apply to Town Hall meetings or campaign events like this one.

  4. June 25, 2014 at 9:36 am

    I’m going to have to get a pair of those spy glasses with the pinhole camera. Cops can lie. So can I. See you on YouTube, councilwoman.

  5. bill
    June 27, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    they allowed all their opponents in, and they were all furiously taking notes.

    • June 28, 2014 at 4:06 pm

      I was furiously taking notes too. Imagine what kind of press that would have been if they had not allowed their opponents in. A Town Hall is usually open to anyone including opposing candidates.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

