One More CCRC Post

By Elisha Dorfsmith

I know for a fact that my readers are sick and tired of hearing about the Coconino County Republican Committee. I want you all to know that I am just as sick and tired of writing about the CCRC as you are of hearing about it. Please bear with me one more time.

As I posted in previous articles, last week I received a “cease and desist” letter from Rose Law Group representing CCRC Chair Joy Staveley. Today I received a second letter saying Rose Law Group approved of my updates, clarifications and retractions (with the exception of one that needed fine tuning). Now they are asking me to write a final post about the situation and then they will consider the matter closed (although they insist they will monitor all of my future posts for anything that could hurt Ms. Staveley’s reputation).

A few minutes ago I mailed Rose Law Group a final letter saying I will comply with their demands. I also included my sources and material documentation for many of the comments Rose Law Group was demanding I retract. They will have this information in their hands tomorrow. I believe they will be surprised at how closely my quotes match the source material. I believe they will also be surprised at who some of my sources are.

Which brings me to a question for any of my readers with legal experience. How do media outlets protect their sensitive information sources without getting sued? Most of my sources sent me confidential emails for my eyes only. I could not, nor would I want to publish those emails without permission. I was able to list a couple of my sources by name in my blog but I have several other sources that value their anonymity if at all possible. Unfortunately, I was forced to send their emails to Rose Law Group to prove I was not making things up.

That said, there were a couple facts in my blog that were incorrect and needed to be fixed. I appreciate Rose Law Group pointing those details out. If there is one thing I value and one thing Flag Liberty Blog stands for, it’s the truth. I don’t mind admitting when I make a mistake.

As requested by Rose Law Group, I apologize to Ms. Staveley for the following:

In a previous blog post I said that Ms. Staveley changed the designee on the Secretary of State website from Ray Jordan to herself. This was incorrect and I should have caught it. It would have thrown up a red flag if Ms. Staveley was listed as both the Chair and Treasurer on the Secretary of State website. Ms. Staveley changed the designee from Ray Jordan to Dan Edel.

Also, Ms. Staveley did not hire an attorney to defend the CCRC (although she did hire one to protect herself and send me cease and desist letters). I should have said the CCRC executive committee hired attorney Jared Holland to protect the CCRC.

And for the record, Rose Law Group says CCRC bylaws give Ms. Staveley the right to close the CCRC bank account and transfer those funds into a new account without the permission of the treasurer. I’m not an attorney so if Rose Law Group says it’s legal then it probably is. Was it the right thing to do? Well, that’s up to each of us to decide on our own.

Rose Law Group has requested that I provide links to the three updated blog posts. They are as follows:

https://flagliberty.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/coconino-county-republican-party-illegally-appoints-new-treasurer/

https://flagliberty.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/coconino-republican-treasurer-files-police-report-when-over-8000-goes-missing/

https://flagliberty.wordpress.com/2013/03/08/ccrc-exec-committee-illegally-removes-elected-treasurer/

For those tired of my CCRC posts, I close with pink fluffy unicorns dancing on rainbows:

 

  1. Jessica
    April 22, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    “allegedly” – definition: how to call someone out for their ridiculousness without being sued.

  2. Nancy
    April 22, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    I never get tired of your Blog or what you say in it. I am a truth seeker as well. I support your efforts to bring out the truth. And, too, I love puffy pink unicorns and rainbows.

  3. Matt Papke
    April 22, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    Truth is treason in the empire of lies.

    CCRC fielded 0 Candidates in 2012, that is beyond pathetic. The impotence of the current and previous past CCRC is evidence enough. They have won a empire of dirt.

  4. Slim
    April 23, 2013 at 9:50 am

    Crap. Now I’m gonna hafta play a Fear video. (Warning:
    Above balancing method not recommended for casual appreciation or faint of…anything…)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

