Home > Constitution, Elected Officials, New Media, Politics > Sorry GOP, Romney Will Not Get My Vote

Sorry GOP, Romney Will Not Get My Vote

By Elisha Dorfsmith

In 2008, myself and other Ron Paul supporters were criticized and vilified by McCain voters for not lining up and supporting the establishment choice. We were told that we were handing the election over to Obama and that the evil policies of the Obama administration would be on our hands. I had close friends and family members tell me that I was un-American for voting third party.

Back then I spent a lot of time arguing that there was not really much of a difference between Obama and McCain.  I explained that as a principled voter I could only cast my ballot for someone who upheld my core beliefs and values and especially defended the Constitution and my rights. McCain was NOT that person.

Keep in mind that I clearly understood that I would never agree with any candidate 100% of the time but it’s not like I only disagreed with McCain on the small issues. McCain was the opposite of everything I believed in.

Today, McCain is still pushing for just about everything I rail against on a weekly basis in my blog including the Law of the Sea Treaty, the “Patriot Act”, NDAA, SOPA, CISPA and unconstitutional undeclared wars where the UN and NATO take command of our troops.

I don’t think McCain has ever opposed any military action in his long Senate career. Even now, McCain is calling for new undeclared wars in Syria and Iran. He’s also calling for more spying on American citizens without warrants. He even supports killing or holding American citizens indefinitely without a trial.

The bills McCain has voted on or helped write over the years have consistently shredded the Constitution and Bill of Rights.  And yet, for some strange reason, I was supposed to support this guy. It was laughable in 2008 and it’s laughable now.

Lesser of Two Evils

In 2010 I made a major mistake that I will always regret. Angry at Congresswoman Kirkpatrick for supporting Obamacare, I cast my ballot for what I considered the “lesser of the two evils”.  Sure, Paul Gosar had tried to force what many consider poison on Flagstaff’s water supply but my mindset at the time was that Kirkpatrick had to pay for her Obamacare vote. I told myself that I would try to hold Gosar’s feet to the fire and force him to follow the Constitution when he went to Washington.

Oops.

Once elected, Gosar immediately set to work trampling the very Constitution he had so proudly waved during every speech he gave on the campaign trail. He voted to renew the “Patriot Act” and raise the debt ceiling and continue our unconstitutional undeclared wars.

Holding Gosar’s feet to the fire didn’t work out too well either.  When I emailed Gosar all I ever received were vague form letter responses. When I posted on his Facebook page, my posts were deleted. When I asked why my posts were deleted, I was banned and blocked.  I voted for the lesser of two evils and got exactly what I deserved…evil.

Here We Go Again

Like some strange case of deja vu, this 2012 election is starting to play out the same way 2008 did except this time we have Mitt Romney as our savior rather than John McCain.

It’s amusing to watch people who supposedly have principles try to justify Romney’s support for government healthcare and gun control and bailouts and big government programs.

I guess these things are all fine as long as the person doing them has an (R) next to their name.

Of course, what concerns me the most is the fact that Romney has been a very vocal supporter of the “Patriot Act”, NDAA, and these never ending, unconstitutional, undeclared wars.

Sadly, establishment voters are coming out of the woodwork to tell me that I have to line up like a good little sheeple and vote against everything I believe in because even though Romney is not perfect, he’s the “lesser of two evils”.

Others are telling me that I’m being divisive and not being a team player. They keep telling me that we shouldn’t criticize Republicans in such a critical election year.

Nevermind the fact that some of these same people have sent out anti Ron Paul emails on a regular basis for over a year calling us “racists” and “leftists” and “conspiracy nuts”.

Ron Paul supporters have done nothing but fight day in and day out for freedom and liberty but sadly, many jumping on the Romney bandwagon would rather fight us and mock us and spread lies about us while parroting the talking points of the propagandists on talk radio.

Now they suddenly bring up the need for unity and working together as a team. All I can do is shake my head.

Some of these people are tea party members who banned all Ron Paul posts from their Facebook pages (while leaving Gingrich and Santorum posts intact). I suppose their beloved Gingrich was also being a team player when he said that Ron Paul is worse than Obama and admitted that he would never vote for Paul.

But we’re the bad divisive guys/ “anarchists”. Yes, someone actually did suggest that Ron Paul supporters who don’t support Romney are “anarchists”.

Seriously people.  All we want are candidates who defend the Constitution and Bill of Rights and will stand up for freedom and liberty. Is that really too much to ask?

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. Ronnie
    May 24, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    Romney will not get my vote either. As I read your blog I felt that I was not the only one who is tired of being told to hold our nose and vote for the lesser of two evils. I dropped out of the Precinct group for that reason. I too voted for Gosar against my better judgement. I never trusted him, and he has certainly proved that my gut was spot on. I refused to vote for McCain as he his more Blue than Red.

    I’ve been called all sorts of names for being vocal about voting only for Ron Paul. I too was told I would be splitting the vote, and basically voting for Obama. Politics as usually is very dangerous these days as it means the majority will vote like sheep.

  2. Kimo
    May 24, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    Great blog. Romney will never get my vote, either. I just like telling ’em that a vote for Romney will dilute the vote for Ron Paul…

  3. cal
    May 25, 2012 at 10:30 am

    I am so very afraid that it is “too much to ask?” Those two parties are nearly the same. It’s either a fast boil or a somewhat slower boil. Either way we get cooked. Too bad the sheep are so easily lead.

  4. JaKe
    June 5, 2012 at 10:20 am

    Coke or Pepsi (Romney or Obama), they both are detrimental to the nation’s health and they both leave the same bad syrupy after-taste in your mouth.

    Actually what this country really needs is a good cup of hot black coffee (Ron Paul) so they can wake the hell up!

    Hey, maybe we can get Mayor Bloomberg to promote a ban on containers with more than 16oz of Obama-Romney.

  5. June 11, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Great post – I will not vote for the lesser of two evils either. I hope everyone unites around this concept

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

