Home > Constitution, Elected Officials, Flagstaff Liberty Alliance, New Media, Politics > What’s Next For Flagstaff Ron Paul Supporters?

What’s Next For Flagstaff Ron Paul Supporters?

(The following is our post election email to local Ron Paul supporters)

Hey everybody,

Earlier this week we sent out an email to Flagstaff Ron Paul supporters explaining how to have the biggest impact on election day.  Ron Paul supporters across Flagstaff mobilized and despite the snow and wind, waved signs at their polling places, drove their friends to the polls and most importantly, voted for liberty.

I stood outside my polling place for seven hours on Tuesday holding my banner. People of all ages and walks of life would stop and tell me that they had just voted for Ron Paul. Others came over to tell me that they really respected my commitment and dedication to my candidate.  A complete stranger brought me lunch and several people stopped by to offer coffee and hot tea. Long story short, people were very impressed with the local grassroots Ron Paul campaign…even those who disagree with us on the issues.

At the end of the day Dr. Paul received 11.3% of the vote in Coconino County. No matter how you look at the numbers, you have to admit that the liberty movement has come a long way and is growing at an incredible rate! In 2008 Ron Paul only received around 4% of the vote in Coconino County.

Seeing the Arizona campaign come to a close is bittersweet. I have campaigned for countless candidates and nothing compares to campaigning for Ron Paul. When you meet a supporter of Dr. Paul for the first time it’s like finding a long lost family member. The dedication and camaraderie is unlike anything I have ever experienced.

My 8-year-old son told me today that he is going to miss handing out literature for Ron Paul. He asked if he could save some literature so he could remember how much fun he had walking in the parades and spending so much time at the county fair. I feel the same way. I hate to see it come to an end.

The bright side to this long Arizona campaign wrapping up is that now we can use our time and energy to advance the cause of liberty in other ways. Earlier I promised to write about opportunities to stay involved and how you can continue to make a difference. Here are just a few suggestions:

Campaign For Ron Paul In Upcoming States

Most states have not voted yet and the Ron Paul campaign needs your help. Super Tuesday is next week and the campaign is asking for people to help with their phone from home program. Stay tuned to the official campaign website for more ways to help out.

Make sure your Ron Paul supporting friends and family in upcoming states remember to vote and if you have any extra literature or bumper stickers send it their way so they can put it to good use.

Attend Flagstaff Liberty Alliance Meetings

Flagstaff Liberty Alliance plans to hold meetings on a monthly basis starting in March. Our focus will be on issues that affect our liberty at the national, state and especially the local level. We need your input, ideas and suggestions on how to move forward and have the biggest impact. Stay tuned for dates, times and locations.

Support Local Liberty Candidates

Flagstaff is currently in the midst of a mail in only mayoral primary. A general election for mayoral and city council candidates is coming up in a couple months. There are also school, county and state elections coming soon. Research the candidates, find out who supports liberty and help out with their campaigns.  I am personally helping with the Jeff Oravits city council campaign and will be knocking on doors for him in the coming weeks.

It’s much easier to get liberty candidates elected on the local level than it is on the national level. Local laws also tend to have the biggest impact on your everyday life. Our best shot at changing government is on the local level.

Be The Media: Start Writing A Blog

Educating the public and communicating the truth is one of the most important things we can do. Blogging and other forms of new media are a great way to get the word out. We need people reporting back from city, county, school board and other meetings to keep the public informed on what is going on. We all know we can’t trust the mainstream media so the responsibility falls on us. If you start a blog let me know so I can add it to the list of blogs on the Flagstaff Liberty Alliance website.

Get involved with your local GOP

This is probably going to be my most controversial suggestion but please hear me out. If Ron Paul does not win the GOP nomination many of us expect his son Rand to run in 2016. Rand Paul has tirelessly defended liberty in the Senate by standing up against the renewal of the Patriot Act and the passage of the NDAA among other things.

Rand (or another liberty GOP candidate) will have a much better chance of winning the nomination if friends of liberty are in leadership positions in the party.  Leadership starts with becoming a PC (which is very easy to do) and from there the sky is the limit. An elected PC gets to vote on important party matters and just a handful of people can sway the focus to the freedom message.

If the GOP is not your thing, get involved in the Libertarian Party or the Democratic party or wherever else you feel you would like to try to make a difference. Which party you belong to does not matter when freedom and liberty are your goals. We need to be everywhere.

If Ron Paul is not on the ballot in November, some of us will still write his name in. Others will look for a good third party candidate to support. I could see myself doing either. If a great third party candidate made the ballot I would be happy to knock on doors and campaign for them.

Whatever you choose to do in the coming months, I hope that you will all choose to stay active and continue fighting for freedom.

Thanks for all you have done and will continue to do!

Elisha Dorfsmith

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. March 1, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Thank you for the inspiring ideas and for sharing your personal feelings about being involved in campaigning.
    Your family is indeed setting good role models for others in our community.
    I will personally take to heart the advice you have given and see where I can make the biggest impact. I am most definitely starting with campaigning for Jeff Oravits!

  2. Kimo
    March 1, 2012 at 1:11 am

    Thank you, Elisha, for these excellent suggestions. I, too, will take them to heart and find ways to stay involved. I look forward to the upcoming FLA monthly meetings and connecting with other like-minded liberty advocates. You have even inspired me to write my own blog. Your writing is clear and concise and I enjoy reading it.

    Onward and Upward!

  3. Ronnie
    March 1, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Great article Elisha. My husband and I will write in Ron Paul’s name on the ballot. I refuse to vote for anyone else. Your recommendations are greatly appreciated, and will use these ideas to begin, rather continuing to try and educate folks. I welcome a third party that holds the same principles of Ron Paul, as both the GOP and Dems have become incestuous.

    Recently I received calls from Dick Morris and Mike Huckabee asking for donations so they could look into Obama’s campaign funding. I asked if they supported Ron Paul, and their answer was to check out Hannity on Fox News. Really? He throws Ron Paul under the bus or totally eliminates him from the campaign. Anyway I said that I would not give them my hard earned money as it was going to Ron Paul. They promptly hung up on me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

