Home > Elected Officials, Nanny State, New Media, Politics > Nabours Opposes A PMO and Wins My Vote

Nabours Opposes A PMO and Wins My Vote

By Elisha Dorfsmith

Yesterday, I finally had the chance to hear Flagstaff mayoral candidate Gerald (Jerry) Nabours speak and answer questions about local issues at an event at the Radisson. I had semi high expectations knowing that out of the three announced mayoral candidates, Nabours is clearly the most liberty oriented.

What surprised me was just how much he spoke my language and how many liberty issues and concerns he addressed.

Mr. Nabours started his speech by naming off a long list of failed city experiments including Horizon Air, the auto mall, and the Aspen Sawmill project and said that the city should not be involved in these types of deals. He mentioned the new Chrysler Deal as yet another example of the city meddling in the marketplace and trying to pick and choose winners.

During the question and answer session, a member of the audience asked how he felt about a proposed property maintenance ordinance and he explained that there are already enough laws on the books to deal with health hazards and other concerns. He said that there is no reason for Flagstaff to have a PMO.

As many of you know, I have been very vocal in my opposition to a PMO (David Arendt lost my vote in the last council election when he called for a PMO “with teeth”). As soon as Nabours voiced his opposition to a PMO he secured my vote.

Flagstaff Liberty Alliance and other groups that I work with do not endorse candidates but I do. After hearing Jerry Nabours speak and address a wide variety of liberty concerns and issues, I can now say that he has my full support.

Find our more about Nabours at www.naboursformayor.com

Jerry Nabours discusses city issues at an event at the Flagstaff Radisson.

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

Leave a Reply

