Home > Elected Officials, Flagstaff Liberty Alliance, New Media, Politics > My Response To The July 14 Mitch & Joe Show

My Response To The July 14 Mitch & Joe Show

By Elisha Dorfsmith

On July 14, the Mitch & Joe Show (on the Big Talker ) read part of a letter I sent them about Coconino County property taxes. They took issue with several of my points and said I had the facts wrong.

Skip to 29:51 at the link below to hear them discuss my letter:

July 14 Mitch & Joe Show Podcast

Here is my response:

July 15, 2011

Hey Guys,

I want to address a couple things you talked about on the show yesterday.

First, During the County meeting last Tuesday, board members claimed several times that the tax rate here is the lowest in the state. I may have to request a recording of the meeting to prove it. If they’re telling you a different story they’re lying to somebody.

Secondly, I think you misunderstood my point about our homes being assessed higher in Flagstaff. My point was that the median home in Flagstaff is valued higher than most of the state. For example, the median home in Flagstaff is valued at about $100,000 more than the median home in Phoenix. Phoenix may be under a higher tax rate but we still pay higher property taxes. Does that make sense?

Lastly, I have talked to several people who told me that they were going to lose their homes and businesses due to higher property taxes. Recent property tax hikes were the proverbial straw that broke the camel’s back. A lot of people in Flagstaff were talking about it when this article came out:

Most Property Taxes Leap 15 Percent

Hope that helps.

Elisha Dorfsmith

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. carl
    July 23, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    bitch & mo are mouthpieces

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

