Home > Flagstaff Liberty Alliance, Libertarian, New Media, Review > Musical Anarchy: Down The Line Magazine Interviews Me For Their Basement Tapes Podcast

Musical Anarchy: Down The Line Magazine Interviews Me For Their Basement Tapes Podcast

By Elisha Dorfsmith

Blogging can be a very self indulgent exercise so please forgive me for taking a break from the usual activism and going in a completely different direction. This post is full of memories and history, nostalgia and inside jokes.

Last week I had the opportunity to be interviewed about one of my homemade anti folk projects by Down The Line Magazine for their Basement Tapes podcast. The full interview can be found here:

The Radiant Dregs “I Wanna Bomb You” interview.

In 2003 when my wife and I were recording the above album we were also publishing an independent compilation CD of homemade recordings called Sediment. The purpose of Sediment was to encourage people to throw caution to the wind and try their hand at homemade recording experiments. We considered it a musical form of anarchy because no rules applied. We published five issues and over 100 songs before we decided to retire the project.

One of the biggest highlights of Sediment was when our local paper in Big Bear, CA asked if they could do a story on our compilation for their weekend edition. Somewhere I still have a copy with me on the front page smiling and holding Sediment 2.

Over the three or so years that we published Sediment it featured everyone from Jerry Davison of the Christian band Jacob’s Trouble to the ever mysterious Philip Stranger (who ended up living with my wife and I in Flagstaff for over a year and a half).

While submissions came in from all over, there was one location that seemed to have a huge concentration of aspiring artists…a message board for a band called Daniel Amos. DA fans affectionately called it the DAmb and I was one of the top posters there (this was before Facebook ate everybody’s time).

It was on that message board (in a password protected area called the argument dump) where I argued and debated politics and theology and slowly came to the realization that I clearly identified with libertarianism and the philosophy of liberty.

I have since been banned from that board which is a long story that involves the financing of a Swirling Eddies project that went bad and lots of disgruntled fans including myself.

Moral of that story: even lost hungry dogs can end up biting the hand that feeds them.

My wife and I have not recorded anything since 2009 but my son has recently shown in interest in the recording process. We just might sit down and make some noise again in the near future.

You can find hours of our recordings HERE.

“Have fun and never take yourself too seriously!” –Platyhelminth

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. June 4, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    This is soooo cool!

  2. March 12, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Reblogged this on Radiant Dregs Blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

