Home > Elected Officials, Nanny State, New Media, Politics > City Of Flagstaff Spends Your Tax Dollars On Private Charity

City Of Flagstaff Spends Your Tax Dollars On Private Charity

By Elisha Dorfsmith

A couple weeks ago, several local taxpayers who attended the recent City budget meetings told me that they were shocked to discover that the City Of Flagstaff was increasing their donation to United Way. The City is now pushing the total annual contribution close to $300,000.

When I brought this up on my facebook page I was instantly attacked by a local activist who insisted that this money comes from Federal grants and that we should encourage this because it’s not taxpayer money. I had my doubts but even if it was Federal grant money I would have an issue with it.

I tracked down a copy of the 2011 budget and found a list of private charities that the City Of Flagstaff donates to. Just as I expected, the list included the glaringly obvious:

Source Of Funding: General Fund.

It couldn’t be any clearer. This is 100% local tax dollars and anyone who says otherwise is either ignorant or lying.

For those wondering which charities our tax dollars go to, here’s what the 2011 budget says:

“Contributions are as follows: United Way $270,000; Humane Society $163,625; Greater Flagstaff Forest Partnership $19,925; FACTS $249,819; Weed & Seed $5,563; Youth Coalition $19,869; NACOG Rural Transportation $4,202, Intake Triage $75,000, Cardinals $31,264; Rural Policy Institute $25,000; Victim Witness $41,724; NACASA $15,787; Sister Cities $2,805; and carryover of Emergency Housing Funds $20,000.”

SOURCE.

A discussion about taxes and charity was started on a friend’s facebook page and I posted the following:

“If I want to give to charity I will give to charity. I don’t need government to FORCE me through taxes to give. Do we really need government to tell us which charity to give to and how much?”

I guess my comment really irritated Mayor Sara Presler who responded:

“Elisha, you are not forced. You choose to live here and comply with our tax code.”

Several people told me that they were shocked at her arrogance. Seriously, compliance is our only option? What if I choose to live here and work to change the tax code? Are we not allowed to complain or fight to fix things anymore?

Presler’s comment reminded me of the shallow argument I often hear from the right when I complain about the endless wars and empire. If you don’t love America and the good we do around the world…LEAVE.

I assure defenders of the status quo on both the right and left that I have no plans to go anywhere. I will continue to step up my efforts to promote freedom and liberty and smaller government every chance I get.

Flagstaff desperately needs leaders who do not believe the job of government is to hold our hand wherever we go. We certainly don’t need government taxing us and giving that money to the charity of their choice.

Slightly off topic, I would like to take a moment and thank the surprising number of people who have contacted me and asked if I would consider running for local office. I sincerely appreciate your faith in me and all the kind words.

While I would never say never and completely rule out a run, I currently feel very passionate about encouraging and being part of the alternative media in Flagstaff. That’s where I plan to focus my energy in the coming months.

As I have said in past blogs, I am very excited to hear that Jeff Oravits is going to run. I hope you will check out his website and consider supporting him.

We have to elect candidates who understand freedom, liberty, and personal responsibility. Time to break free from the nanny mentality.

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. carl
    May 24, 2011 at 8:27 am

    “Flagstaff desperately needs to elect candidates who do not believe the job of government is to hold our hand wherever we go. We certainly don’t need government taxing us and giving that money to the charity of their choice.”

    Not going to happen here. These sheep want nanny to take care of them so they can just hang out downtown.

  1. February 11, 2012 at 7:59 pm
  2. February 1, 2013 at 11:10 am

Leave a Reply

