Where Are The Young People?

By Elisha Dorfsmith

As I attend more and more tea party rallies, conservative events, and Republican meetings (yes, I am holding my nose and registering as a Republican so I can vote for Ron Paul in the primary) I keep hearing the same old question “why can’t we get the youth involved.”

I have tried addressing this several times in the past and felt like I was talking to a brick wall. I may have to be a little more blunt this time. If you want the youth involved you have to put your religious and big government political agendas aside and talk about liberty and allowing people to be free to live their lives the way they choose (not the way you choose for them).

The philosophy of liberty brings people together who may disagree on everything except the idea that they should have a right to conduct their life however they want as long as they are not hurting others or damaging someone’s property.

There is a common held belief that the youth are not interested in politics or their future and have no interest in taking a stand. I couldn’t disagree more. While there is some truth to the idea that college age students are the hardest group to mobilize, I have seen first hand that it can be done. If your message is true freedom and liberty you will unite and motivate people of all ages and political ideologies.

Ron Paul: Why The Young Flock To An Old Idealist

The other night I attended a political meeting and almost immediately the conversation turned to promoting¬† “Judeo Christian values” through government. One of those in attendance spoke up and said that he almost felt that he was at the wrong meeting. He was looking for smaller government. I felt the exact same way. If I wasn’t working on a big picture project at the time I would have left early. Ironically, a few minutes after the talk about legislating morality ended, the big question came up again: “why can’t we get the youth involved.” I felt like jumping up and down and screaming the answer.

I am not suggesting that anyone compromises their religious or moral values. The beauty of living in a free country is the freedom to believe whatever you want. My point is this: If you try to push your values on others through the force of government you push the young people away, you push me away, and you push everyone else who believes in true freedom and liberty away.

The choice is yours.

Nothing is more frustrating than listing to people talk about pushing Christianity on others through the force of law.

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. Bill Tippett
    May 18, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Incredibly well said Elisha. The ideologues need to recognize that the new paradigm is inclusive, not exclusive. In other words, we can agree to disagree about several social issues but we all should seek the liberty to choose what is best for ourselves and not be told what to do by big brother.

  2. May 18, 2011 at 8:48 am

    I agree that you need to not “preach” to the younger folk – I also agree with this tactic when speaking to ANYONE….Attraction not promotion, and DEFINITELY not Proselytizing! I also think the yutes’ need to know that it’s THEIR future, we old folks are already on the way out….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

