Home > Constitution, Elected Officials, Flagstaff Liberty Alliance, Libertarian, New Media, Politics, Review > Liberty Defined…The Revolution Continues

Liberty Defined…The Revolution Continues

By Elisha Dorfsmith

Few potential 2012 presidential contenders appeal to young voters the way Ron Paul does. Today I had this fact illustrated firsthand when I went to a local bookstore to buy a couple copies of Liberty Defined.  As I set my books on the counter, the girl at the register glanced at them and her eyes lit up. She was not aware that Ron Paul had a new book out. I explained that it was just released yesterday. She said that in 2008, she and her parents were very involved in the “revolution” in the Sacramento, CA area. They spent hours waving signs and handing out Ron Paul literature like so many other liberty activists across the country. She asked if I thought he would actually run in 2012. I told her that I was pretty sure he would. Her eyes lit up again as she explained that she had just turned 18 and could not wait to vote for Dr. Paul this time around.

Liberty Defined is not the kind of book you would expect from a potential candidate gearing up for an election. Rather than playing political games and pandering, Paul cuts straight to the issues regardless of how controversial they may be. I think it’s safe to say that Liberty Defined will make everyone feel uncomfortable at one point or another…even libertarians.

This kind of focus and conviction is what makes Ron Paul so appealing to young voters. While many may disagree with him from time to time, they know that he is not there to make the masses feel warm and fuzzy in their comfort zones. He’s not there to make empty promises. He’s not interested in being popular.

Liberty Defined covers 50 issues categorized alphabetically from Abortion to Zionism. Talk about loaded topics and the potential for knee jerk reactions. No other modern presidential contender would ever be so brave. Paul tackles each topic more eloquently than I have ever seen him write or speak before. He uses history, facts, and personal experience in his effort to carefully apply the philosophy of liberty to each issue.  The result is a masterpiece that is unlike anything I have ever read. I challenge anyone (even those who disagree with what he says) to read this book and come back and tell me that Dr. Paul is not being 100% straightforward and honest. Liberty Defined is essential reading for every liberty activist.

As I have mentioned several times on my blog in the past, my wife and I plan to be very involved with the Northern Arizona Ron Paul campaign when he makes it official. Dr. Paul has his paperwork filled out and ready to submit and he should be announcing his presidential run in the coming weeks. In anticipation of his announcement, I took the liberty of starting a Flagstaff Ron Paul 2012 Facebook page. Please join and invite your friends. The sooner we start meeting and planning, the more organized we will be!

A couple days ago I stumbled across my album of Ron Paul’s visit to ASU in 2009. What an exciting event. The enthusiasm among college students was incredible! I am posting a few of the pictures below.  Let the revolution continue!

A crowd gathers before Ron Paul speaks.

Ron Paul at ASU December, 2009.

Lighting the fires of liberty.

Dorfsmith family on the front row.

Ron Paul and my son Adrian.

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. February 20, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Do you know the name of the font that is used on the front cover of the book, the font used for the words “Liberty Defined”?

  2. February 20, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    Unfortunately I don’t. The book is published by Grand Central Publishing and they may be able to point you in the right direction.

  3. March 6, 2012 at 2:31 am

    Thanks for the tip on the font, here’s the billboard design I made using the font, it’s a volunteer recruitment board for a whiz-bang group of the finest grassroots at http://www.RonPaulWichita.com , here’s the board design:

  4. March 6, 2012 at 7:02 am

    Well done! Looks great.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

