Home > Education, FUSD > Highlights From The February 22nd FUSD Board Meeting

Highlights From The February 22nd FUSD Board Meeting

By Elisha Dorfsmith

When I first started attending FUSD board meetings, I really didn’t plan to write a blog after each one. As time went by, I received a lot of feedback from people who told me that they look forward to my FUSD board meeting blogs and use them to stay up to date with what is going on in the district. Tonight’s blog post is for them.

There was not a whole lot on the agenda tonight. The meeting only lasted for about an hour. Mr. Bavasi was absent.

Only one member of the public (Mr. Hood) addressed the board about an item that was not on the agenda. He expressed concern over the proposed solar project at Cromer Elementary School.

Tonight’s full agenda can be found HERE. The board unanimously approved the following:

1. 2011-12 Calendar – The Board will consider and may approve a calendar for the 2011-12
school year. (B. Hickman)

2. Policy Revision: JFB and JFB-R Open Enrollment – The Board will consider and may
approve administrative recommendations concerning the second reading of revisions to the
Board Policy and Regulation related to Open Enrollment. (B. Kuhn)

3. Dedication of Right of Way to City of Flagstaff for 4th Street Traffic Improvements – The Board will consider and may approve administrative recommendations concerning
dedication of right of way to the City of Flagstaff for traffic improvements on 4th Street. (B.Kuhn)

4. Purchase of New Boiler for Cromer Elementary School – The Board will consider and may
approve administrative recommendations

There was some discussion over which calendar should be approved. The state has rules in place that put restrictions on how many days can be taken off in a row during winter break. Ms. Hickman wanted the board to approve two different calendars while she clarified some confusion with the Arizona Superintendent of Public Instruction’s office.

In a classic quote that all too often seems to sum up the attitude of FUSD, Board President Kulpinski said “I say we move to approve the calendar until someone tells us it’s illegal”. To their credit, the calendar they approved was the more student friendly calendar so I’ll give them points for that.

Some final thoughts that are slightly off topic…

When I was campaigning against the FUSD override, I was told countless times by override supporters that if I would just attend FUSD board meetings I would have a better understanding of how the district worked, why they need more money, and why I was wrong to question them.

While I certainly do have a better understanding of how the district works, I still have the same concerns about the district that I have always had.

Here’s my question: I have attended every FUSD board meeting and some work sessions over the past several months and have not once seen any of the district defenders that criticized me for not attending board meetings. Could it be that they blindly supported the district without seeking out the details and facts? I don’t like to jump to conclusions so I’ll just pretend that Rick Krug and others stopped attending when I started going and are now getting all of their information from my blog.

For more Flagstaff education information and discussion, please check out:

Flagstaff Education Forum

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

Categories: Education, FUSD
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

