Home > Constitution, Elected Officials, Flagstaff Liberty Alliance, Libertarian, New Media > Welcome To The Libertarian Party Jim Deakin

Welcome To The Libertarian Party Jim Deakin

By Elisha Dorfsmith

Jim Deakin ran for U.S. Senate in 2010 on the Republican ticket as a tea party candidate. This week, he sent out a press release saying that he was leaving the Republican party and registering as a Libertarian. The Republican establishment has been trying to get rid of Deakin for quite some time and it seems that their wish has now been granted.

During the 2010 primary, Deakin spoke at many Flagstaff Tea Party meetings and events and even attended a small States’ Rights Coalition of Northern Arizona meeting at the Flagstaff Bookmans. He had a sincere desire to represent the people of Arizona and defend the Constitution.

When J.D. Hayworth jumped into the race, his campaign claimed that Deakin was a spoiler. They even spread rumors that Deakin was working for McCain to split the tea party vote and ensure a McCain win. Nevermind the fact that Deakin was running for U.S. Senate months before Hayworth ever announced his intentions to run.

At the height of the campaign, I received dozens of emails from Hayworth supporters attacking me for endorsing Deakin. Some Hayworth supporters even sent me threats saying that the Flagstaff Tea Party better endorse Hayworth or they would come up and physically shut us down. The hate for Deakin by many in the Republican establishment goes very deep. Sounds like Jim finally had enough!

I think it’s safe to say that the Republican party in Arizona is slowly but surely driving away anyone who thinks for themselves or questions the party line. If you don’t like the wars, if you hate the patriot act, if you question anything, they obviously don’t want you in the club. So be it.

Welcome to the Libertarian party Jim Deakin!

As a registered Libertarian, I could not vote for Jim Deakin in the 2010 Republican primary. Still, I spent a lot of time campaigning for him and got a lot of heat from the Republican establishment for it.

Cindy (my wife) campaigns for Deakin at an event at the Flagstaff Radisson in 2010.

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. February 11, 2011 at 8:38 am

    When I discovered Jim during the 2010 Senate campaign, my Arizona voter registration card listed my party as “PND” – party not declared.

    I was so impressed by Jim’s platform and values that I registered Republican just so I could vote for him in the Republican Primary. As soon as the primary was over, I registered Libertarian.

    Jim is a welcome addition to our party, and I sure hope he runs on the Libertarian ticket for the Senate seat soon to be vacated by Kyl!

  2. Chris Kallmes
    February 11, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I too voted for Deakin in 2010. The nay-sayers told me he couldn’t win and I responded:”I’d rather vote for Deakin and know that I tried, because we’ll be stuck with a bad candidate regardless if he loses. It’s not throwing away your vote if it gives him a chance to win”
    I knew he was the right candidate in 2010, and I’ll cote for him again in 2012 if he chooses to run for Kyl’s Senate seat. If he needs any assistance in his campaign, count me in. I gathered many supporters in 2010 that will certainly follow my lead. Let’s get started early!

  3. Chris Kallmes
    February 11, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I’m a registered Republican, but I will still vote for Deakin!

  4. Harry Laughman
    February 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    Come on Jim sounds like you have a lot of support.

    Just a thought any one out there know how, if it is legal , to start a political action pac for Jim. Maybe we can start early and get him some money. I know it will he should have a good million to put on a good campaign. He didn’t have that in 2010. If he decides not to run we can always return the money. ( I think)

  1. February 10, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

