Home > Education, FUSD, Libertarian, New Media > Name Calling

Name Calling

By Elisha Dorfsmith

On February 1st, the FUSD board will hear a presentation from PFLAG asking the district to consider an anti bullying policy. I am not sure what their plan will include but since they will be pushing for action, I wanted to learn more about them.

Before I get started, let me go on record in support of safe schools where all children can be comfortable being themselves without being bullied and harassed. That said, when my son went to school in the district I was under the impression that FUSD was already protecting students from bullies. My fear is that PFLAG wants to promote a policy that would give some students special protection over other students. All students should be protected equally. I will be attending Tuesday’s meeting and will let you know what I find out.

In my research, I came across several articles about PFLAG including this one which was published yesterday:

Jan. 24-28 proclaimed No Name-Calling Week

 

Is name calling considered harassment, bullying and hate? I’m not going to argue that it isn’t but I am going to ask if we’re in the middle of a massive double standard. You see, while some name calling is forbidden and considered hate by my friends on the left, other name calling is perfectly acceptable and encouraged. Attacking libertarians is still very politically correct…even if politically incorrect words are used. A few examples:

In his infamous 2008 article in Flagstaff Live, liberal activist and former Justice Of The Peace candidate Avtar Khalsa called me and my friends “MOONBATS” for supporting Ron Paul in front of Flagstaff City Hall.

When I started my political action committee to oppose the FUSD override, a district employee sent me a Facebook message with a single word…a derogatory term for homosexual.

At that same time, someone mobilized a group of high school students to flood me with emails calling me a “HEARTLESS BASTARD” and “KID HATER”.

After the Tucson shooting, tea party groups across the country received emails calling tea party members like myself “MURDERERS” and “KILLERS”.

I could go on and on but I think you get the point. There is a huge amount of hypocrisy here. The examples above are, for the most part, from individuals on the left who support speech centered anti bullying policies like the one FUSD may be considering.  Perhaps these individuals should first learn to lead by example?

Avtar Khalsa thinks Ron Paul supporters are  “Moonbats”.

Ever heard tea party members called names? These kids have and many of the names have been used by supposedly trusted adults like teachers and politicians.

“Heartless Bastard”

flagstafflibertyalliance.com

  1. Ken
    January 27, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    It’s fair to call anyone on their own hypocrisy. However, there’s a difference between knowing a hypocrite and tolerating hypocrisy in the classroom. I have students whom I know will call other students foul names once they’re out of the school; there’s nothing I can do about that. While I won’t allow hateful speech in my classroom, I can’t and wouldn’t want to moderate speech outside my class.

  2. January 27, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Excellent point Ken. I am a strong advocate for free speech. I hope I didn’t give anyone the impression that I support censorship. I have always felt a strong connection to this quote:

    “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.”
    — Evelyn Beatrice Hall(often falsely attributed to Voltaire).

  1. March 29, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Leave a Reply

